70s photographs

1978 OZ Surfing Titles at South Point WA

The 1978 Australian Surfing Titles were held at South Point Cowaramup Bay.

National contest winners were Open Mens: Colin Smith NSW, Junior Mens: Tom Carroll (NSW), Womens: Leith Temple (Qld) and WA’s Barry Young won the Seniors Mens Division.

Photo: 1978 Contest judges. L-R unidentified, WA’s Keith ‘Jock’ Campbell and Barry Nettles in dark jumpers and other unidentified persons officiating in the judging tent. Photo credit Ric Chan. (Jock was WASRA President 1978-80 and 1984-85. Barry was a member of Dolphins Board Club).

Tom Blaxell: “Barry used to be called ‘Tanker Channel’ because he always sat way out the back (about 50 metres further out than anyone else) to catch the real biggies.”

1978 Sth Pt Aust Titles judging panel Jock Campbell & Barry Nettle- Ric Chan 004

Photos: 1978 contest surfing at South Point. Photos courtesy of Ric Chan.

1978 Oz Titles Sth Pt surfing IMG_003

Photos: 78 Oz Titles Contest officials, spectators & wave line-up. Photos courtesy of Ric Chan.

1978 Sth Pt Aust Titles compilation - Ric Chan pics IMG_001

Photos: 78 Oz Titles contest officials & spectators. Photos courtesy of Ric Chan.

1978 Oz Titles officials & spectators IMG_011

Photos: 78 Oz Titles WA contest officials & competitors.

Left: WASRA Official Ken Trainer from Scarborough Board Club. Photo credit Ric Chan. (Ken Trainer & his father Percy served as WASRA Presidents and are both Life Members of Surfing WA).

Right: (Top) Ian ‘Kanga’ Cairns (dual World Cup winner 1975 & 1980) chatting with hospitality entrepreneur and former Cordingley Surfboards front man Bill Oddy. Photo credit Ric Chan.

Right: (Bottom) Yallingup’s Baz Young celebrating his win in the Senior Mens Division with friends at Margaret River. Photo credit Barry Young.

1978 Sth Pt Aust Titles compilation IMG_002

For more information on contests & WASRA officials refer to Surfing WA Celebrating 50 Years book.


%d bloggers like this: