news photographs

YBR Single Fin Theory Contest


Yallingup Board Riders (YBR) are a small but powerful group who love to surf and are proud of where they live. Established in the 70’s YBR has been the home to some of the best surfers on the planet. The club provides the stepping stones for aspiring world champions but by far their biggest event of the year is the Single Fin Theory.

The Yallingup amphitheatre is the front door to the raw Indian Ocean swells and is the perfect location for the event that is now in its 16th year. The invitational event is open to 40 surfers only. Entrants pay $100 entry fee and all contestants win sponsors prizes worth more than the entry fee. There is a prize pool that ranges from a block of bait to a trip to Bali, with a wheelbarrow full of beer and Chappy’s custom made single fin being the most sort after prizes. The best and most unique part is that the winner doesn’t necessarily win the top prize as all competitors go into a raffle style draw to collect their prize…you can come last and win a trip to Bali!!! Finalists win addition prizes. Obviously the winner is crowned and lorded the Single Fin Theory champ and is immortalized into the history books forever. All prizes are donated by local businesses and the surf industry, with YBR organizing all of the merchandise. Caves House provides the venue for the presentations/party where live music is a major part of the event!!

The event was created and named after Chris ‘Chappy’ Chapman and Aron ‘Lord Wear’ Carr.

The Single Fin Theory is the second longest running single fin event in Australia, with the Burleigh Board Riders being the oldest by one year. Both events have an amazing history and the winners are sent to compete in each other’s event. YBR also see the potential of a link with the Bali single fin event, to maybe send the winners of the two Australian legs over to be a part of a grand finale in Bali!

Competitors ride their own pre 80s original single fin surfboards or choose from a selection of spare retro single fin surfboards made available for the event.

The standard of surfing is high and the boys are competitive.

2015 Single Fin Theory 16th Year

This year the event was held at Yallingup on Sunday 25 October. Most of the contestants were from YBR but there were also invitees from Burleigh Heads, Margaret River and Cowaramup.

2015 Contest finalists
1st   Damian ‘Taco’ Warr YBR
2nd Dave ‘Ding’ Englet Cowaramup
3rd  Sam ‘Mulie’ Hanson YBR
4th  Jason “Lagoon’ Simpson YBR

Prizes for 2015 top finalists
First prize:       Perpetual Trophy/Trip to Burleigh Heads to compete in Single Fin Contest
Second prize: Day trip to Gnaraloo flying with Luke Wylie

A kids Expression session was held before the finals.
1st   Zahn Hanson
2nd Otis North
3rd  Remy North and also wipe out of the day.

A highlight of this year’s event was watching Sammy Hanson’s son Zahn surfing overhead waves at Inside Rights while Sammy was competing at Main Break in the finals.

The chief sponsors Chapster Surfboards and Lord Wear donated a new single fin surfboard which was won in a lucky dip at the presentations held afterwards at Caves House.

Many thanks to SW surfer/photographer Laurie ‘Loz’ Smith for these photos of the 2015 contest.

Click on Chapstar-Surfboards to view Wyatt Davies’ video highlights of 2015 Single Fin Theory contest (3mins).

Photos: Top: Competitors viewing the finals on the deck. Bottom: (Left) Brady Maclean and (Right) Contest Result Board

2015 Single Fin Theory 1 collage_photocat

Photos: Top: Gavin Nelmes, Aaron & Chappy supplying refreshments for the finals, Bottom: (Left) Troy Bottegal supplying food from Peko Peko. (Right) Taco, Sam Morrison & Jed Ogram.

2015 Single Fin Theory 2 collage_photocat

Photos: Major sponsors (Left) Chris ‘Chappy’ Chapman & wife Kristie with sons Joe & Leo (Right) Aron ‘Lord Wear’ Carr with sons Josh & Tom.

2015 Single Fin Theory Chappy & Aaron collage_photocat

Image: 2015 Sponsors List

2015 Single Fin SPONSORS

Photos: Top: Legend Tony Hardy inspecting single fin equip. Below: the Paterson’s Danny (with Garth Mullumby), Antman & Mark.

2015 Single Fin Theory 7 collage_photocat

Photo: Annual Group Photo

2015 Single Fin Theory group shot after Final - Loz pic IMGP0340

Photos: Surfing. Top: (Left) Ding cuttie. (Right) Jason Simpson in the pocket. Bottom: (Left) Unknown natural footer on left. (Right) Keaton.

2015 Single Fin Theory surfing 2 collage_photocat

Photos: Surfing. Top: (Left) Splitting the peak rights & lefts. (Right) Kids Expression Session at Inside Right. Bottom: Sam Hanson & Taco in the Final.

2015 Single Fin Theory surfing 1 collage_photocat

Photos: Presentations at Caves House. (Left) Finalists Sam Hanson, Ding Englet, Taco Warr & Jason Simpson. (Right) Taco with perpetual trophy.

2015 Single Fin Theory Presentation 1 collage_photocat

Photos: Presentations at Caves House (Left) Chappy with Garry Hodge winner of Chapstar Single fin surfboard. Right: (Top) Adz & partner Kat. (Middle) Brody Maclean won trip to Bali. (Bottom) Rusty raffle winner.

2015 single fin theory presentation 5 collage_photocat

Bonus Pics: Dolphins surfing Rabbits during contest. (Left) Dolphins take-off (Right) aerial.

2015 Dolphins at Rabbits collage_photocat



%d bloggers like this: