2017 photographs

2017 YBR Single Fin Theory contest images by Loz Smith

Yallingup Boardriders (YBR) 18th Single Fin Theory event was held Saturday 7 Oct 2017 in blustery conditions at Injidup car park.

Competitors rode their own pre 80s original single fin surfboards or chose from a quiver of retro single fin surfboards made available for the event by Margaret River’s Bill Gibson.

The standard of surfing was high and the boys were competitive.

Congratulations to Chris ‘Chapstar’ Chapman, Aaron ‘Tony’ Carr and Paul ‘Antman’ Paterson for running the successful community based event.

Retired Pro surfer Taj Burrow won the event from Marty Chandler, Tim Hawken and Antman.

Click on this link to view Viv Davidson’s article Taj trims to victory in single fin in the Busselton-Dunsborough Mail Oct 11.

Many thanks to SW surfer/photographer Laurie ‘Loz’ Smith for sharing his photos of the 2017 event.

1. Surf Contest Injidup Car Park

Photos #1: Contest officials and spectators.

Top: (Left) Rainbow over Injidup bay. (Right) spectators on the viewing deck

Bottom: (Left) contest officials in tent. (Right) Judges view of surf line-up.

Photos: #2 Antman ripping in all weather conditions

Photos #3:  Contest winner Taj Burrow.

Top: (Left) Taj selecting a Sunrise Surfboard by Dappa from Bill Gibson’s vintage surfboard collection. (Right) Taj with Dappa board on the steps at Inji.

Bottom: (Left) Taj floater (Right) Taj snap.

Photo #4:  Kyle Edwards air drop.

Photo# 5 Danny ‘Dog’ Paterson executing a difficult headstand manoeuvre.

Photo #6 Annual group photo – Inji car park.

Photos #7 Inji car park capers.

Top: (Left) Adz and Todd (Right) Antman, Alfie, Dave, Isaac unidentified x 2

Bottom: (Left) Aaron, Ding, Marty, unidentified. (Right) Bill Gibson and unidentified bloke who doesn’t feel the cold.

Photos# 8 Inji car park capers contd.

Top: Garth Mullumby, Toby (from Burleigh Heads) and Micko.

Bottom: (Left) Tim Hawken’s son with Damon Eastaugh. (Right) Tim Hawken with his son.

Photo #9 Finalists photo shoot pre final.

L-R Marty, Antman, Taj and Tim

Photos #10 Finalists leaving the water after the final.

Top: Marty and Antman

Bottom:  Taj and Tim.

2. Presentations Caves House Yallingup

Prize presentations were held at Caves House Yallingup.

The 40 contestants won sponsors prizes worth more than the entry fee. Even if they lost in the 1st heat, they still won a prize. The most unique part is that the winner doesn’t necessarily win the top prize, as all competitors go into a Lotto style draw to collect their prize. Finalists won addition prizes. Chapstar’s custom made single fin was the most sort after prize.

Photo # 11 Chappy finishing the prize Chapstar single fin surfboard.

Photos #12: Contest prizes and winners

Top: (Left) Contest prizes (Right) custom trophies made by Luke ‘Skully’ Sutherland

Bottom: (Left) Bill Gibson won a bike. (Right) Alfie Carter won the Chapstar surfboard.

Photos #13: Winner and grinners

Left: winner Taj with trophy

Right: grinners Mark McKinnon, Jason Simpson and Danny ‘Dog’ Paterson.

Yallingup Boardriders thanked the local Surf Industry and community for supporting the SFT event.

Click on these links to view more YBR Single Fin Theory material.


2015 YBR Single Fin Theory contest published 1 Nov 2015

Yallingup Boardriders Club Facebook page


%d bloggers like this: